MUSIC 

1/5
BAND Go to website

Patrick Flynn, Rennee Flynn, Allison Patrick 

323-5331  pflynn@portageps.org
rflynn@portageps.org
apatrick@portageps.org

We at the Portage Central campus are very proud of our award-winning band program. We are world travelers and performed in Hawaii most recently in 2017.  At CMS, we enroll over 300 students in our 6th, 7th, & 8th grade bands. At CHS, our program includes over 200 9-12th grade students and is known and respected at the state, the national and the international level for musical excellence. The High School program includes Marching Band (PCMB), Symphonic & Concert Bands, PC Winds & Percussion, Chamber Ensembles, extracurricular Jazz Band, and Indoor Percussion Ensemble! We have something for everyone! 

The PCMB is a member of the Michigan Scholastic Marching Band circuit and has been undefeated the past four (4) consecutive seasons. The bands are a unique and vital part of the Portage Central community.

CHOIR Go to website

Cindy Hunter 
323-5333
  chunter@portageps.org

PCHS Choirs equip and inspire students to create art through the study and performance of Choral Music. Students develop musical skills including sight reading and vocal technique while learning a wide variety of repertoire from a range of time periods and styles. Opportunities exist for participation in Michigan School Vocal Music Association events including Honors Choir, District and State Choral Festival, and District and State Solo and Ensemble. Curricular Choirs include Concert Choir, auditioned Women’s Ensemble and the auditioned Chamber Singers. 

1/4

ORCHESTRA Go to website
Silvia McClish
323-5607
  smcclish@portageps.org

 

Orchestra seeks to teach students of a variety of levels. Playing in a group setting challenges each member to be responsible for his or her part, communicate with the others, and bring the musical performance to a new level. Public performances help to increase student confidence and self-esteem while providing a creative outlet. String playing covers a broad variety of musical styles in historical context: classical, folk, ethnic, modern, pop.

Sarah Smith-Moore, Activities Assistant

323.5264  sesmith@portageps.org

Nikki Smith, Activities Director
323.5265  nsmith@portageps.org

Student Activities Office • Portage Central High School

8135 S. Westnedge Ave • Portage, MI 49002